Life is more mystery than misery

(or at least, that's what I like to think)

Muse ( a review with little amusement)

It’s been actually the first time I have finished a book with a great effort and, most importantly, the first time I have had the urge to throw it against the head of a person sited on the bus in front of me: such was the rage I had the moment I turned the last page.

This is due to several aspects:

I have found that three of every four chapters (that would be 75% of the novel) have been hard for me to read, not because I didn’t understand them but because it came a time when the supposed originality in the narrative wasn’t worthy.

On the other hand, there is almost only one story that grabbed my attention – the one about the poor French receptionist (Eric), an obsessed poet who writes endless poems to Naomi, the main character and first narrative voice of the novel- and that one wasn’t well resolved at the end, which really pissed me off. That story was the main reason I kept reading after the second act, where the fashion world that Naomi inhabits begins to disappear and the story shapes into a series of chapters that reflect the mix of despair, uneasiness, youth, drugs and amnesic sex that the life of the main character has become.

At the end it’s not the theme that bothers me so much -nothing new and innovative about sex and rock and roll- but the gibberish in which the narrative transforms itself, because here is the question: where is the limit? In art, I mean. Can a writer try anything just to be original in spite of the audience? Is something unusual good just because it is new and original? Since when original and good became the same word? Here it is where “Muse” doesn’t work for me. It can be inspiring at some moments; that I’ll agree with. But the rest seems a narrative tall tell to me. The inspirational moments are easily forgotten by the forced coolness disguised into originality by the second and third act.

So, bottom line: cool cover, not too cool story.

One could think that “Muse” was a literary experiment in form and content, (with a main character who you almost despise at the end) that somehow got published. Fashion, sex, drugs and inspiration are key words for many publishers and a cool cover can work almost as many miracles as the best and most expensive cosmetic. But at the end you’ll always see the ugly face.  And, well, maybe that’s what the author tried to explain, so I must give her the credit for that: you can love or hate it, but you’ll feel something about it, that’s guaranteed. Maybe “muse” is meant to be that piece of art for me, that one that I can’t stand but one that I can’t forget either.

Laia Vilaseca.

For more info or to purchase this book click here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2011 by in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , .

About

I love words when rightfully used. I think literature make us better. I love writing and reading and this is all this blog is about, since I thought it would be a cool way to share. I really hope you enjoy it!

Follow on Bloglovin

What would you like to read about..?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

@LaiaVilaseca

Blogs I Follow

La màquina de fer llibres

Blog intermitent sobre traducció de literatura al català

consumpropi.wordpress.com/

"Necessitem desesperadament que ens contin històries; tant com el menjar, perquè ens ajuden a organitzar la realitat i il·luminen el caos de les nostres vides" [Paul Auster]

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

ennegre

Blog de l'associació En Negre dedicada a la defensa i promoció de la novel·la negra en català

El blog de NEGRA Y CRIMINAL

Las noticias de actualidad de la librería más negra de la Barceloneta.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

mackleonardfilms

Just another WordPress.com site

tyjameshenson

I'm not Ryan Gosling :(

craigslistjoe

a documentary film blog.

+ in the roost +

projects, decor, & a new baby

topiclessbar

This is my life. Laugh at it.

Irish woman

Hope you enjoy...........

seewhatshemeans

Just another WordPress.com site

