Life is more mystery than misery

(or at least, that's what I like to think)

Five books I’d love for Christmas

1. Death Comes to Pemberley Hardcover, P.D. James . I  almost broke into tears of joy when I discovered this new book from one of my favorite mystery British authors.  James presents a rare meeting of literary genius: she has taken the characters of  Jane Austen’s beloved novel Pride and Prejudice into a tale of murder and emotional mayhem, since Pemberley is plunged into a frightening mystery. Don’t miss this cool brief presentation of the book!

2.  The red house: a novel, by Mark Haddon. Great news! New book by another of my favorite authors, which has taken long since The curious incident of the dog in the Night-time and A spot of bother, which I loved.  Although it doesn’t come out until June 12, 2012 you can pre-order it by Amazon. Maybe I’ll just wait until the release, and consider the great news as a gift to look forward into 2012.

3. The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett (Jul 17, 1989). I am a great fan of Hammett, and have read most of his novels and short stories except this one.  A Hammett’s classic tale of murder in Manhattan, which became a popular movie series with William Powell and Myrna Loy. Both the movies and the novel continue to captivate new generations of fans. A perfect setting and plot for this time of year!

4. V is for vengeance, by  Sue Grafton ( signed if possible). I have only read three or four novels by the author, all of them Kinsey Milhone’s adventures. I found them entertaining, funny and I got charmed by Milhone’s character, so this new release seems a pretty good choice for a winter afternoon by the fireplace. I know that Grafton offered signed copies a month ago or so, when they released the book, but I am not sure that it’s still possible. Anyways, I think it could be interesting, signed or not.

5. Wild Mind: Living the Writer’s Life. I discovered Goldberg in a Third Street Promenade Library almost six years ago, when I was living in Los Angeles and studying Creative Writing at UCLA.  I did read Writing down the bones with amusement and delight, and felt that a new world opened for me. It has always been a companion since then: a book I could open at any time to get inspired and to get on the right track as well again. I read that Goldberg had written Wild Mind: Living the Writer’s Life as a way to expand and extend the info, advise and exercises that were not on Writing down the bones at the time, so it seems a pretty inspiring choice to me!

What about you? Which books would you love to get for Christmas?

3 comments on “Five books I’d love for Christmas

  1. Acid Free Pulp
    December 17, 2011

    Can’t wait for the new P.D. James. It looks fantastic. I’m also a fan of Hammett. May you get all of your bookish wishes 🙂

    • lilysmystery
      December 19, 2011

      Thank you! Merry Bookish Christmas and May you get all of your bookish wishes too!

  2. Pingback: CRIMEFEST 2012, The International Crime Fiction Convention « Life is more mystery than misery

Leave a Reply

About

I love words when rightfully used. I think literature make us better. I love writing and reading and this is all this blog is about, since I thought it would be a cool way to share. I really hope you enjoy it!

Follow on Bloglovin

What would you like to read about..?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

@LaiaVilaseca

Blogs I Follow

glòria fort _ studio

il·lustració, disseny i manualitats

La màquina de fer llibres

Blog intermitent sobre traducció de literatura al català

consumpropi.wordpress.com/

"Necessitem desesperadament que ens contin històries; tant com el menjar, perquè ens ajuden a organitzar la realitat i il·luminen el caos de les nostres vides" [Paul Auster]

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

ennegre

Blog de l'associació En Negre dedicada a la defensa i promoció de la novel·la negra en català

El blog de NEGRA Y CRIMINAL

Las noticias de actualidad de la librería más negra de la Barceloneta.

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

mackleonardfilms

Just another WordPress.com site

tyjameshenson

I'm not Ryan Gosling :(

craigslistjoe

a documentary film blog.

+ in the roost +

projects, decor, & a new baby

topiclessbar

This is my life. Laugh at it.

Irish woman

Hope you enjoy...........

seewhatshemeans

Just another WordPress.com site

